I very much enjoyed my time at Talalla & learnt a lot from the retreat (I just hope I can remember it all!) What I enjoyed the most was all the stretching & sun salutations. I also liked how every class we worked on something different. I was very uneasy at first about doing the headstand as Ive had a bad experience with it in the past, but Im happy to say I did it & now thanks to you will be more confident when trying again. When it came to the meditation my favourite one & the one Id like to do more of is the Yoga Nidra. I thing the guided meditation was very peaceful & maybe you could use that more if others also like it. Only other suggestion would be that perhaps in the morning class when theres not so many people we could face the pool & beautiful scenery. Would make the sun salutations even more enjoyable.
Wishing you all the best.

Ashley
Ashley
7/12/2013

Dear Sandra,
Thank you for sharing YOU with us. The meditation and breathing session helped me to connect with myself at a deeper level. Your openness and gentle manner helped me to feel comfortable with the level I am at. Thank you for sharing your knowledge. Participating in your classes has helped me to commit time and my daily life to Yoga.
Namaste,

Diamondbrook
Diamondbrook
Yoga retreat, 10 November 2012

Great time together with Martine. My first yoga sessions. She motivated me
to go on! Thanks. All in all, great and friendly atmosphere in Talalla retreat,

Julian berlin
Julian berlin

I arrived stiff,wound up and full of frenzied thoughts. Within a few days, the world seemed  a lot clearer and my body actually moved! Martine's calm, her knowledge and kindness were absolutely perfect and had a huge impact on my very early path into the yoga world! Thank you Martine! I very lucky that you were here!

Michelle Meineke
Michelle Meineke

Dear Sandra,
Thank you very much for past few days when I learnt so much. I have been practicing yoga for few years, yet thank to you I have found new areas to work on and your lessons also taught me things I have been doing wrong for so long . You also told some great yoga tips and mainly about roots of yoga which enlightened my attitude to life and people, although especially myself! Thanks to rediscovering meditation. I have realized how beneficial, nurturing, relaxing and spiritual it can be. I am still looking forward to some classes here however I can say already thank to you, Sandra, yoga retreat was just what I expected and what I needed.
Hopefully I will have another chance to attend some classes with you around the world.
Wishing you all the best

Zusana
Zusana
Yoga retreat 24th October 2012

We cannot recommend enough surfing at the Talalla Surf Retreat. Garrett is really an amazing, talented and passionate surf instructor. The surfing beaches selected suit perfectly the lessons which are taught with a fun yet straight forward approach! Garrett is always there to encourage us which gives us the motivation we need to get out of the back... The food in Talalla is also great and healthy and the staff very helpful. You can choose to relax and do some yoga or just chill by the pool. Talalla — we'll be back!

Mathilde and Gregoire
Mathilde and Gregoire
France

Martine, What an absolute pleasure its been attending your yoga classes here in Talalla! The morning sessions were a wonderful start to the day, the afternoon classes a great end! The classes have been a mixture of calming and challenging. You achieve the perfect balance every time! I normally only take part in yoga whilst travelling. You have inspired me to find regular class when we settle in Edinburgh. Other than the classes, its also been lovely getting to know you. I have really enjoyed our little chats before and after classes. Thanks for being so patient while I have to deal with "sir" Ralph. I do apologise  for the various interruptions to classes! Also, I am so appreciative to you for welcoming Sidney to your classes. He rally enjoyed his first experience of the yoga world! Long may his interest continue! Thanks Martine, hoping we will see you again either here or in OZ. Lots of love.

Michelle Burgoyne
Michelle Burgoyne

We arrived to Talalla after sunset and immediately felt like entering the fairy-tale. We had been welcomed by fireflies and lovely staff. You could feel the relaxed atmosphere and good vibration all around you. We stayed on the first floor and enjoyed the open room which still offers you enough privacy. And we just loved the open shower. While taking your shower, you can observe monkies jumping in the trees. The food is just delicious and all fresh.

In fact, we attend the yoga retreat with Sandra, which showed as a huge contribution for us. We enjoyed Sandra’s yoga classes a lot and discovered the beauty of hatha and iyengar style, various pranayama and meditation techniques.
Just few meters away, you find a beautiful, wild beach. And you are very welcome to enjoy the spa that Talalla resort has got available.

We had a great time here and would be happy to come back any time.

alenkasulinka
alenkasulinka
Slovakia

To Lovely Sandra,
Just a little note to say thank you for helping to make my stay at Talalla so special. Your classes have been wonderful - your calmness, serenity and sense of humour are inspiring and so is your bendy-ness !
I really hope we meet again.
Lots of Love

Emma
Emma
Dec. 2013

Sandra Namaste,
It has been such a pleasure to get to know you both as a yoga, meditation & pranayama instructor and a little bit as a person. Your kind gentle approach has been new and very much enjoyed throughout the yoga retreat. I will take many valuable lessons from you from this short time together. You have taught me about silence, the importance and benefits of sitting still and focusing inwards. I will leave here with an intention to increase my level of focus and dedicate more time towards quieting my mind, sitting still and breathing. I have also enjoyed your practice and teaching of holding the poses for longer periods than I am used to with my ashtanga flow practice. I have learned many ideas for teaching beginners about the use of props, walls and people and about breaking down poses to simplest form. Thank you. Merci Beaucoup pour tout que vous avez emporte a moi.

Amanda Williamson
Amanda Williamson
Yoga retreat, 10 November 2012

Dear Sandra,
Thank you for a wonderful week ! It has been a time in which all my senses and muscles have been heightened ! The yoga and meditation sessions have stretched my mind and body and given me inspiration to continue when I return home. On top of all that the surroundings are lush and beautiful creating the perfect setting in which
to practise. Thank you for all your patience, guidance and enthusiasm, you truly live the lifestyle you promote.

Sarah Algate
Sarah Algate
10 November 2013

Just completed an excellent week at Talalla Surf Retreat under the excellent tutelage of Garrett and the other coaches, learning to surf in pristine, empty beaches. Garrett teaches in a relaxed, positive and engaging atmosphere. Reflecting with the video footage is a fantastic means to aid progression. I now have the 'Surf Bug' and am looking to plan my next surf trip!

Alan Williams
Alan Williams
United Kingdom

Talalla retreat is the place that you close your eyes and dream about on a cold, miserable morning back at work. It’s so good I almost don’t want to tell you how heavenly it is- so many of Sri Lankas beach resorts have been spoiled and are noisy, busy, “touristy” places which is in stark contrast to the secluded relaxation of Talalla. Upon entering the gates, you walk into the gorgeous grounds of the complex which are centred around the large and beautiful pool. There are sun loungers and hammocks dotted around the pool where you can relax and drift away to the sound of the waves crashing the short distance away on the delightfully secluded beach. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are buffet style with a great selection of fresh, local, organic food which was all delicious. If you are feeling energetic, the surf school offers great surf lessons- my boyfriend really enjoyed his first time on a surf board and we would have loved to have had more but sadly we were on a budget! We did have a great meditation session with Sandra who also teaches the twice daily yoga lessons. (I sadly wimped out of going when I saw Sandra standing on her head- I didn’t think my amateur at best yoga standards were up to it but I know that everyone who was brave enough to attend really enjoyed her classes!) All the staff were incredibly kind and friendly, especially the Australian hosts who were so lovely and who made us feel very welcome and immediately at home. The whole atmosphere at the retreat is one of relaxation- friendly people who are respectful of others- with the open rooms there isn’t much privacy, you can literally hear when someone coughs in another building but everyone is generally respectful of this…having said this- on our last night some very noisy guests moved into the room next to us- they stayed up drinking late into the night and if it hadn’t been our last night I would have been pretty annoyed. If you want to party- please don’t go to the retreat- it is a quiet place of relaxation and due to the open-ness of everything you really do have to be respectful of other people, don’t get me wrong- I love a party but this isn’t the place for it! It’s also worth bearing in mind that at the retreat you pay tax on the tax- so the usual 10%, 12% were actually more than 10 and 12% of the total bill as you pay tax on it- so with all the lovely things on offer it is very easy to rack up a big bill! But…how often do you visit paradise? If you are going to Sri Lanka- you really must visit this place- I already wish I was back swinging in a hammock by the pool with a king coconut and a good book…sigh!

Michaela
Michaela
Cambridge

Sandra, thank you, I have thoroughly enjoyed the retreat. I feel stronger and ready to practice regularly again. I particularly enjoyed the therapeutic lesson and hope to remember all the useful advice you gave.
All the best.

Karen
Karen
26/11/11

Dear Martine,
We really wanted to extend a big thank you for the great yoga sessions that you held at Talalla.Corinne, Marion, Thomas and myself had a great time working out and winding down with you after our long surfing sessions. I would recommend it highly to all surfers! We all liked your mellow and quiet voice and thought it really helped to get into the exercises. Also, we enjoyed the variety of moves and positions that we practiced during this surf and yoga week.
Thank you very much,

Alex, Marion, Thomas and Corinne
Alex, Marion, Thomas and Corinne

Thanks Sandra for making this Yoga Retreat very informative, challenging and nurturing! My hamstrings will remember you for a long time to come. :)
I hope we meet again soon,

Amanda
Amanda
22.10.11

Dear martine, i really liked your yoga classes and thanks for playing hide and seek with us. Love Sidney and Ralph. PS thanks for being a great teacher. We will miss you Martine.

Sidney
Sidney

Dear Sandra, thank for your wonderful (painful but helpful) Yoga lessons. We appreciated and learned a lot. Wishing you all the best for your future journey. Hopefully we see you again next year, your Dream team boys

Hans + Ian
Hans + Ian

I will be short, the best coach ever! He helped me do something I never thought I would be able to! Rock on!

Sarah Mallot
Sarah Mallot
Slovenia

Dearest Sandra,
It has been an AMAZING week... The retreat is exactly what I needed ! In fact. I got more out of it than I expected. Your classes were structured very well and they were well planned and thought out. The classes were challenging on a physical and mental level. Before I came, I wasnât sure I could survive 1 week of 2 asana classes a day but now, at the end of the retreat, not only have I survived but I feel mentally, physically and emotionally stronger than ever! You are an excellent teacher and a wonderful woman ! Im so thankful to have met you and I hope our teacher-student relationship as well as our friendship continues to grow over the years! This yoga retreat is really one of the best things Ive ever given myself and I am so grateful to you for such a wonderful experience. You hae helped me to take my sadhana to another level! And Meditation wow dont get me started on that! Ive already written too much ! :-) Thank you for sharing your knowledge. I have learned so much and will apply all that I have gained back home and incorporate it into my daily life. You are a real inspiration! Merci beaucoup pour tout ce que tu mas donne.
Har OM tat Sat. Namaste

Shehnaz Majid
Shehnaz Majid
12 October 2013

Dear Sandra,
Thank you so much for this past week. Daily practice with you has helped to draw our bodies and minds back into shape. Your approach felt very thoughtful and personal, your teaching both gentle and challenging. We really appreciate the time and patience you have given to nurturing the start of hopefully a long yoga practice.
Very best wishes to you.

Jacky and Greg
Jacky and Greg
October 2012

Dear Sandra,
It was truly a pleasure spending so much time with you over the last two weeks! You greatly enhanced my experience here. Your wisdom, kindness, and encouragement took my practice to a higher level. Found your classes unique and uplifting. Your energy gave me compassion for my body as well as the confidence to try some postures I never thought I could do! I will certainly miss the "high" your classes give me. I wish you continued success in inspiring others. I hope we meet again!
With gratitude,

Jamie McCarthy
Jamie McCarthy
Canada

Dear Sandra,
Thank you for a stunning week of yoga. It has been a while since I practiced everyday but your wonderful instruction ensured that I enjoyed a really fulfilling practise.
Thank you especially for developing a tailor made practise for my whole family. I know this was a challenge, 2 + 4 year old was ambitious !! they really loved it, so thank you.
I will look forward to returning to enjoy a retreat and a few more laughs.
Kind Regards,

Rebecca Geer
Rebecca Geer
October 2012

Dear Sandra
Thank you so much for a wonderful week of yoga. I haven't practiced for a long while and already feel a lot stronger, refreshed and energised.
Thanks for helping me overcome my fears over inversions! I have always avoided these but am now confident to keep doing them. I will miss the classes when I leave!
All the very best.

Charlotte
Charlotte

We spent three nights here and it was one of the highlights of our trip to Sri Lanka. Unlike a lot of beach places in Sri Lanka, this place is off the main road, so apart from the occasional scooter there is virtually no traffic noise. The grounds were impeccably kept and like most guests we lazed around the swimming pool a lot of the time, watching the monkeys, monitor lizards, coucals, palm squirrels and egrets wander about the place. The beach was just a few metres away down a grass path, and was safe for swimming and also good for running in the morning and watching the local fisherman getting their boats ready.

Given that they were open air, the rooms were very clean. The bed was a bit hard, but the linen was nice and the mosquito net was very good. The open air bathroom was cool (not often you get to watch fireflies and bats when having a shower).

The staff were really friendly and helpful, and the food was all buffet style but very good. My only complaint is that the curries seem to have been tempered a bit for western tastes and weren’t as spicy as what a local would eat. The drinks selection was also a bit limited (lager, red and white wine) and it would be great if they could give a bit more choice there.

Had a massage at the on-site spa which was great and my wife did the yoga classes every morning and said the resident teacher was very good. We also had a stand up paddle boarding lesson with one of the surfing coaches which was fun and had us standing up in no time.

The best thing about this place was that it is the perfect setting to relax and chill out in. We will definitely go back the next time we are in Sri Lanka!!!

James C
James C
Hong Kong

Dear Sandra,
Thanks for an amazing yoga retreat! It was just what I needed. Thanks for your soothing voice and confidence in us to perform quite challenging asanas, that I didn't think I could do! Well done for trying to make me sit for so long
All the best for the future and may our paths cross again.
Namaste

Caroline Coetzee
Caroline Coetzee
21.10.11

I came across Martines yoga classes during our lovely stay at Talalla Retreat. The classes contributed to my sense of calm and relaxation during my stay. Each class was different. Some more strenuous then others. An added bonus was listening to her gorgeous voice in the acoustically great yoga room. Thanks heaps Martine. My mind and body feels ready to take on our next travel adventures.

Rosie
Rosie

Dear Sandra,
Thank you for making this yoga retreat so fun at the same time as being so interesting. This week has helped me understand what yoga is really about and I feel I have learnt so much which will help to keep me motivated and focused to continue when I get back to my day to day life. Thank you also for helping (together with the masseuse) to sort out my shoulders this week, I think they may just about be touching the floor now when I lay down ! I will be trying to keep them that way in the future.
I hope to visit Talalla again some time in the near future and hopefully my yoga will have improved once again by then
Best wishes.

Jo
Jo
Yoga retreat, 10 November 2012

Dear Martine,
Thank you so much for the wonderful classes and your beautiful company during my week at Talalla. I was looking for a week full of yoga, meditation and pranayama to unwind after three months in Sri Lanka and before going back to buzzing New York City. I have found all of that and more during your classes, our swims in the sea and our meals. You have a wonderful style of teaching, it never gets boring and you make your students feel safe while practicing with you.Thank you for sharing your wisdom with me. I really hope to practice with you again.
Merci beaucoup pour tout!!!

Nadine
Nadine

Every day for a week, I have enjoyed Martines yoga classes here at Talalla. For me, It has been a deep, soothing, slow and meditative hatha yoga, that has added to both my emotional and physical well-being. Martine is very pleasant and professional and a great teacher with an extreme presence in her work. I feel grateful and happy for this experience. Love,

Rene
Rene

Hello Sandra,
Je tenais a te remercier pour cette merveilleuse semaine. Tous mes objectifs initiaux ont ete atteints et au-dela, ma quiete to be happy and free a progresse de facon considerable et je compte lâ immortaliser, ou du moins lâ encrer/ancrer en moi :-)
Apres plusieurs annees de pratique du Yoga, je sentais quâ il me manquait quelque chose, un element que je nâ avais pas encore reussi a cerner, ... la meditation. En effet, la meditation a vraiment ete LA Revelation de cette semaine. Je ne pensais pas pouvoir le faire ni meme imaginer ce que cela pouvait mapporter. Je saurai desormais quoi faire dans le metro :-) Tout cela pour te dire MERCI. Pour ce beau voyage, pour ta patience, ta connaissance, ton experience, toute cette belle inspiration que tu mâ as donnee et que j'espere, nous continuerons dâ echanger. Je garde en moi le secret espoir de pouvoir un jour enseigner et partager cette passion du YOGA! comme tu le fais. Jâespere a tres bientot, somewhere en Asie ou en Europe.
Namaste. xoxo

Benedicte
Benedicte
9 November 2013

Dearest Sandra,
This week has become more than I imagined. I came with a strong need to see myself in a healthier way and to focus away from the rush and important things I need to do. I fond I could treat myself to more acceptance and to trust you with my yoga practice, and I have learned very much. The tools I will bring with e include acceptance of myself and the minutes of life as they come to me. The beauty of this place and the generosity of you and the other people here helped me recognize that I do not need to isolate to protect my heart. God wants me to experience every person every bite of food, even fly, and everything on her Earth. I cannot thank you enough for the attention to me and the trust and hope for a more balanced life. Love be with you (and Stryder)

Jill Kelley
Jill Kelley
10.11.13

Dear Sandra,
For this nice and well exercising time it is easy to say thank you. You do a more than well done teaching and combined with your beautiful heart. The lessons made me progressing personally. A lot of thanks even to Tara who gives you, and because of that either to me, a spiritual impetus bringing the red and the white close together. I wish you good health and that time and space may fulfil your dreams.

Steve
Steve
Yoga retreat, 10 November 2012

Merci Sandra,
Tu as fait de ce sejour a Talalla un pur moment de relachement et de relaxation. Pour moi qui nâavais pas reellement fait de Yoga avant, je repars de cette magnifique retraite avec de solides bases et une connaissance de la pratique et de lâesprit yoga qui me sera utile pour continuer ce travail de mon corps et mon esprit a mon retour. Jâavais pour but de retrouver un equilibre et une certaine quietude et cet objectif est pleinement rempli... reste a pouvoir le garder. Je sais que lors de mes prochaines seances ou meme lorsque jâen essentirais le besoin, je repenserais tres souvent a nos seances, a tes conseils, a ton etat dâesprit, a toutes ces petites phrases/poemes que tu as pu nous dire/lire et qui permettront, lorsque necessaire de retrouver cet equilibre. Jâaurais aussi appris ce quâest rellement la meditation durant cette semaine, tres interessant egalement et lorsque je prendrais 10/15mn pour oublier tout ce qui mâentoure je suis sure que je finirais avec une grande pensee pour toi. Mille merci !!

Juliette Nevers Dimanche
Juliette Nevers Dimanche
10 Novembre 2013

Dear Sandra,
I arrived 8 days ago in this beautiful peaceful spot feeling like a jellyfish, and a total novice to Yoga !
Your inner beauty and generosity have shone forth and warmed my heart, and your patience and encouragement have given me confidence in my body !
I leave here sadly, but with my batteries recharged and the belief that where there are ruins, there may well be a hidden treasure!
My wish for you is that you believe in yourself as much as I believe in you !
Thank you

Loraine
Loraine
November 2012

Dear Sandra,
Thank you for sharing your knowledge and wisdom on all things Yoga. Your calm and gentle approach has enable me to be more comfortable and accepting of the meditative state and I have learnt so much more about the meditation and pranayama aspect of Yoga that I will continue to incorporate into my current practice. Once again, thank you for a wonderful and inspiring retreat and all the best in the future. Hope to see you again here or in India.

Karen Chohan
Karen Chohan
Nov. 9th 2013

Dear Sandra,
Thanks for a wonderful week of yoga. It has pretty much been what I was after a relaxing and yet challenging (physically) week of yoga. Talalla is a fabulous place for a retreat I love the animals and all the greenery and it is great to be able to be in the midst of all this whilst practising yoga...and smelling the sea.
You have a very calming voice âeven the dog things s ! Once again thanks / merci beaucoup !

Annelise Bonnici
Annelise Bonnici
9 November 2013

Dear Martine,
My mother and I had hoped for a relaxing and rejuvenating week and we achieved that and so much more with your expertise. We are both amateur yoga enthusiasts and have really been inspired by your professionalism, calm demeanor, knowledge and passion for yoga. The classes were well timed, paced and acceptable standards, non repetitive and engaging. Your techniques and patience are very much appreciated. Although Talalla is an amazing location and beautiful, it would have not been the same without you. You are a true asset to Talalla Retreat. We look forward to seeing you again and attending your classes.

Irene and Anusha
Irene and Anusha

Every class with Martine nourished the body and soul. As students enter the yoga shala, we all feel welcome, whether we are 1 or 10. Martine has a wonderful ability to read the energy of the room and adjust the class to meet the needs of her students. I have come to greatly appreciate her attention to protecting the body form injury. With every pose, we understand how to get in and out, and what to do to avoid straining ourselves. Many many thanks Martine, for taking a worn out, stressed out soul, and renewing my mind, body, and spirit!

Michelle
Michelle

Merci beaucoup Sandra pour cette (trop) petite semaine de yoga au paradis. Le resort est superbe, le cadre vraiment exceptionnel. jai beaucoup apprecie echanger avec toi lors des delicieux repas. la pratique elle-meme est tres interessante et permet dapprofondir des points cles (jai beaucoup aime les back bends), et aussi la structure des seances est tres pratique et je pense lappliquer a ma pratique personnelle. Nous quittons la retraite bien avant la fin et cest bien dommage! Bonne continuation, bon courage, nous restons en contact et nous te donnons notre avis sur Ulpotha, ainsi que nos contacts de Kundalini.
Tres chaleureusement,

Frederique Prevost
Frederique Prevost
8 November 2013

Dear Sandra,
Thank you so much for your classes. Not having done formal classes for quite some time, I always found your classes challenging. Your quiet confidence, clear explanation of Asanas and breathing and your gentle encouragement made the exercises worthwhile.
And what a setting ! The grounds, the crashing of surf in the background, both of the yoga pavilions are all simply splendid. not forgetting the chorus line of squirrels behind you and the soundtrack of the bakers van, birch, dogs and squirrels only adding to the experience.
Once again, thank you.

Simon Martin
Simon Martin
5/12/2013

This is my first yoga retreat and I really enjoyed it. I have done stretches of yoga in the past and was unsure if I would get bored doing 2 to 4 sessions a day. I wasnt, every class was new and interesting and my meditation ability actually improved for the first time in my life. The yoga philosophy was even interesting (for a while :-) and all in all I think this will be the first of many retreats. Thank you,

Andrew
Andrew
7/12/2013

Dear Sandra,
Thank you so much for a wonderful retreat. I feel I have learnt so much in a short space of time. You have been amazing with us as beginners and have helped us so much to have such a great experience. Your calm manner is inspiring and the knowledge you have is fantastic. Your lessons have always been fun and I know we have all had such a good time learning new things and challenging our bodies and minds. I will take a lot away from this experience and thank you again for such a great time. I hope we can visit you again some time.
Best wishes

Lydia
Lydia
Yoga retreat, 10 November 2012

Dear Sandra,
I have learnt a lot more about yoga this week in our classes with you. The week has helped to open and lengthen my body - especially my back which was in bad shape on arrival!
I have also learned how much further I have to go. Imagine if I only did yoga once a week?
Nothing would happen I will follow up your recommendations in Bali and stay in the yoga path in Australia. Thank you for both pushing me and respecting my limits. You are gently strong & kind. I look forward to the next time we meet wherever that may be.
Best wishes

Louise
Louise
7 November 2011

Dear co-travellers,
I really don’t know where to start this time … maybe by pointing out to all the people who wants to stay at a RESORT, that Tallala Retreat is a (surprise) RETREAT, not a resort. So if you want a resort-kind of hollyday, with sad entertainment from morning to midnight and Elvis-shows twice a day – please leave this magnificent gem alone, thanks :-)There’s nothing as annoying, as people reviewing something, for being something it clearly isn’t!!!
So what is Talalla Retreat?
First of all: a place to relax. It is a purely magical, breathtaking piece of paradise hidden in the outskirts of the southern Sri Lankan-semijungle area, surrounded by skyreaching palmtrees – some 75 meters from the most stunning, kind of secret tropical beach you will ever find. The water is postcard-clear, calm and friendly and the soft sand finer than fine … I have travelled most of the Caribien, and trust me: hardly nothing compares to this spot! I’ll let the pictures speak for themself …
The employees of Talalla Retreat completes the wonderful experience – from the minute you enter their world, untill you leave the gates, thinking when – and how soon – you can possibly return, the staff will be your hosts in a warm friendly, helpfull, professionel, dedicated way. They are + 110% there for your every need – and they are also charmingly curious to know where you are from, how your country is compared to Sri Lanka, what you eat, what you do in your sparetime, sports, etc. etc.
Need to go for a tour? They’ll arrange it in a second, and also make sure, that you get the very best price!
Inside the retreat, you can attend yoga-class twice a day or join the surfing-school that also includes tours to some pristine waters. If you just want to relax, the massage-place will take care of you – or you can crash around the large pool, and watch the chéfs pick fresh herbs and spices from the garden, as they prepar the evening dinner …
There are two different types of rooms. The groundfloor-bungalows, and the top-floor-bungalows. The ones on the groundfloor are regular, large “closed” bungalows, with doors and walls (!). We stayed in a top-floor bungalow, that are open to both you, birdsong, playful monkeys, hyperactive squirrels and other curious but friendly creatures – just stopping by to great you hello! The rooms are completly open, and you shower is outdoor, with the clear stars as your roof.
Of course, you have a mosquito-net covering your bed, so you might sleep in the half-open – but you are well protected from insects – so dont worry :-)
The place offers B&B, half- and fullboard. Kitchen (and restaurant) is marvelous tasty! The food is fresh fish, shrimps, chicken, vegtables, sallads, curry-dishes en masse, fruit, drinks and freshly made juices of various kind.
So … if you like to fall in love with heaven on earth (who doesn’t) and be both physically and mentally spoiled – while up front and close encountering the clean-cut Sri Lankan nature – you need to visit the Talalla Retreat.
PS: make sure to be on the beach around 17:15, when the local fishermen pull their gigantic net in with their bare hands, catching aprox. 1.000 fresh fish for the village … it’s SO impressive – and they really like you to see how they work!
We’ll be back – for sure!

Teschl
Teschl
Germany

Dear Sandra,
It was an amazing week of yoga practice with you. Thanks for this wonderful teaching provided with such generosity and patience to all students whatever level. Your lessons were very precious to go deeper in the yoga practice with being gentle with myself. The breathing lessons also were so nicely explained and brought more consciousness in my yoga practice. Thanks to you Sandra, I understood more deeply how yoga is so essential to our lives, connecting body, mind and soul.
I will never forget this week and the beautiful soul that you are.
A million thanks and hope to be able to come again to a yoga week with you.

Sofia
Sofia
30 November 2012

Dear Sandra,
Talalla and your yoga retreat will definitely be in the highlights of 2013 !
No matter how much one practices and no matter how much one reads/studies, there is always more room to grow and more knowledge to be added. In other words you learn something new every day. And for this I thank you.
Your openness, sharing, neutrality and free spirit made this retreat rather special. I also would like to mention that I enjoyed practising with our group.
People is really what makes a place memorable. And I am grateful, thankfull and very happy that I am taking with me not just a stretch out body, a soothed soul but also a few new friends.
:-) until we meet again !

Alexandra
Alexandra
8/12/2013

Dear Sandra,
I'm practising yoga again after more than 3 years and I sincerely appreciate your style of teaching and encouragement which has got me to a point where I know I can and need to practise again regularly. So, thank you very much indeed.
It has been great learning much more about what yoga truly is and how to incorporate it into our daily lives.
I hope I can take a good part of this learning back with me and see a change.
All the best and maybe see you soon!
Best wishes

Janet Geddes
Janet Geddes
Dec. 14, 2011

I have so many images of my two weeks here I could fill a book, loads of them But the images I feel physically and mentally are the strongest from you and what you have taught me. You opened up my shoulders, legs, neck and mind! Thank you, thank you, merci. Yoga, and my thoughts will mean something else from now on, I will take this all away with me and also share it with others. Thank you lots of love,

Theo
Theo

Martine, I took private lessons and very much appreciated how adjusted to my needs and customized your teaching was. All exercises were both challenging and adapted to my level. You are also, and this is for sure fundamental, excellent at motivating your students, by stressing what is done well without forgetting what can be improved. As a whole, these four lessons made me want to practice yoga on a regular basis when I am back home, which speaks for itself! A big thank you,

Aurelia
Aurelia

Sandra,
The Yoga has been fabulous. I have learnt so much in such a short period of time. You are quite an inspirational teacher and so readily approachable. Thank you for a wonderful week. Good luck with your Vipasana in India. Perhaps our paths will cross again someday.

Toni Lewis
Toni Lewis
November 2013

I enjoyed every single class of yoga with Martine. Every class was different, Martine is an amazing teacher with great knowledge and a lovely personas well. I am very happy that I had the opportunity to learn with Martine and I hope I will be able to attend some of her classes in the future again.
Thank you,

Vendula
Vendula

Dear Sandra,
We really enjoyed our practice with you.
We both feel like we improved a bit from last time. Thanks to your kind encouragement and patience! Also, like to thank you for the different meditation sessions. Lastly we really appreciate the time spent chatting with you during dinner. We hope to see you again either in Sri Lanka or even India...!? You are a real inspiration!!
Warm regards,

Michino & Don
Michino & Don
7.11.11

Dear Sandra
Many thanks for an educational and motivational yoga retreat. Although I have practiced for a while you have given me a great overview of the "complete picture" which I was missing and needed to understand. Armed with this knowledge I am motivated to continue my practice and learn more.
Feeling flexible and fit. I look forward to our paths crossing again sometime soon.
All the very best.

Jacquie Quinn
Jacquie Quinn
26.11.2011

Dear Sandra,
I have had a wonderful time here at Talalla. Thank you so so much for all your advise, guidance and kindness you have sharm me over the past week. It has really taught me to finely tune a lot of the asanas. The group were all lovely and I thoroughly enjoyed relaxing, chatting and getting to know new people and of course, most importantly, the Yoga! I will return to London refreshed and energised!
Thank you again.

Liz Ollosson
Liz Ollosson
4 November 2013

Sandra,
After a long period of not listening to my body and losing the connection to it, I now got the feeling that I am much more confident and in tune with it again.
I'm full of energy to transport this awareness into my world back home to live my life with a more relaxed point of view.
So THANKS A LOT - you are the best teacher I could imagine to teach me this new way of thinking.
All the best for you.

Sabrina
Sabrina
26th November 2011

Really special little jungle retreat that was all the quiet and tranquility I was after. My room was open to the jungle on two sides, and had an outdoor shower, with privacy and security still taken care of. The fireflies dancing around my bed net at night will not be soon forgotten. I was so busy relaxing I didn’t even have time to get to the yoga classes! Would definitely go back.

nikp42
nikp42
Australia

I will always be very grateful for having the opportunity to come to Talalla and meet Sandra. I have great respect for her not only as a teacher, but also for the kind and lovely human being she is. Coming to her at a time when I was finding my practice (and progression) irregular and lacking, I found her classes to be a huge source of comfort; they inspired and nourished me and rekindled my love of yoga. Sandra has such a wonderful energy: her smile, laugh, voice and touch all radiate warmth and compassion. Her classes are always diverse and challenging, while encouraging students to be patient and non-judgemental, and most of all, to have fun and enjoy themselves. There is no doubt that her knowledge and wisdom make her a talented teacher, but it is her loving, gentle guidance and deeply uplifting spirit that make her exceptional. I am returning home with deep gratitude for having met Sandra and experienced her beautiful yoga classes. Food for my soul! Thank you Sandra. I will miss you!

Mandanna Daemi
Mandanna Daemi
21 October 2013

Dear Sandra,
I arrived here as a complete stranger or more likely a newborn baby, who is just about to take the YOGA WORLD.
And indeed, I did learn from the beginning how to breathe, stand straight, walk and of course stand on my head.
My body and my mind experienced feeling through, until now unknown words, such as relaxation and meditation !
Only because of you, your mind, genuine and supportive introduction and guidance I feel motivated and inspired again.
Therefore THANK YOU for being here for us, who are still discovering this beautiful and empowering world of yoga.
Looking forward seeing you around the world again soon.
Wishing you all the best

Ivana
Ivana
Yoga retreat, 25th November 2012

Hello Sandra,
We have been enjoying your classes sooo much. I know, I shouldnt but I feel sad that our treatment with you is heading to the end. Weve learned a lot, indeed. Especially, me-Alena, because fan of Iyengar yoga. I found it very useful and these helpful thing as blocks, stripes, cushions, even the wall and chair.
You are doing really good/excellent job. We like all your explanations and your effort to adjust us if we did something wrong. Now, the rest is on us... practise, practise, practise :-)
Thank you very much. I just wish you teach yoga nearby us, so we could attend your classes regularly.
Thank you,

Alena + BK
Alena + BK
7/12/2013

Dear Sandra
It has been a pleasure to meet you and attend your yoga classes at Talalla. For two weeks I have been attending and with each lesson I am amazed at the possibilities of my physical being! With your gentle encouragement and excellent coaching I have been inspired to continue with yoga as a lifestyle and not just a holiday activity. The benefits are obvious. To top it off I have thoroughly enjoyed our chats and take a great deal of pleasure in letting you know here and that no matter where in the world I am, you are stuck with me as a friend (+hopefully from time to time a student as our paths cross again).
Hugs and love,

Tammy
Tammy
10 December 2012

Talalla Retreat is a little paradise on earth. But what made my stay even more special was my time with Martine. She is an exceptional yoga teacher and spiritual leader. Her group classes are always diverse, sometimes dynamic, sometimes more gentle; Martine always manages to capture the mood and the energy of the group. She delivers a tailored class to individual needs in a group setting. I find this unique and special. I always come out of her classes with a feeling of freshness, calmness and my body that little bit more open. I also took one-on-one classes with Martine on Pranayama breathing techniques and meditation. They were wonderful and incredibly rewarding. Martine is so passionate to pass on her vast knowledge to her students. She goes the extra time and effort to see her students grow and improve. This is a true testament of her caring personality. Thank you, Martine, for being my teacher and spiritual guide this last week. I am a better yoga practitioner and a better person for it. Namaste!

Dessi
Dessi